In the Arena by Joe Klein. Time Magazine. 2015

I don’t like how Joe Klein writes. I won’t spend as much time on this columnist for Time Magazine as I did on Joel, largely because I don’t like Joe Klein’s writing and hence I have less to say about it.

Reading Time Magazine from my time in high-school, I always felt that Joel Klein didn’t have his style of writing strongly conceptualized in his mind. He never had any consistent writing structure, and if he had personally decided long ago allow his structure to conform to or serve the content of the story, it wasn’t clear in the writing I had read. His pieces didn’t seem considered in their entirety, as though he had written it stream-of-consciousness style and never bothered to edit, nor did they seem to consider the readers experience.

For these reasons, reading Joe Klein’s writing was never an experience a enjoyed. It did, however, really make me interrogate how others read my writing. It may make sense to Joe Klein, but it didn’t to me. In the same way, will anyone except me understand my writing? This imperative has definitely benefitted my writing, especially considering that clarity of thought and writing for readers have always been shortcomings in my natural style of writing.In the Arena by Joe Klein, Time Magazine, 2015

0
false

18 pt
18 pt
0
0

false
false
false

/* Style Definitions */
table.MsoNormalTable
{mso-style-name:”Table Normal”;
mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0;
mso-tstyle-colband-size:0;
mso-style-noshow:yes;
mso-style-parent:””;
mso-padding-alt:0cm 5.4pt 0cm 5.4pt;
mso-para-margin:0cm;
mso-para-margin-bottom:.0001pt;
mso-pagination:widow-orphan;
font-size:12.0pt;
font-family:”Times New Roman”;
mso-ascii-font-family:Cambria;
mso-ascii-theme-font:minor-latin;
mso-fareast-font-family:”MS 明朝”;
mso-fareast-theme-font:minor-fareast;
mso-hansi-font-family:Cambria;
mso-hansi-theme-font:minor-latin;}

Joe Klein. I won’t spend as much time on this columnist for Time Magazine as I did on Joel, largely because I don’t like Joe Klein’s writing and hence I have less to say about it.

 

Reading Time Magazine from my time in high-school, I always felt that Joel Klein didn’t have his style of writing strongly conceptualized in his mind. He never had any consistent writing structure, and if he had personally decided long ago allow his structure to conform to or serve the content of the story, it wasn’t clear in the writing I had read. His pieces didn’t seem considered in their entirety, as though he had written it stream-of-consciousness style and never bothered to edit, nor did they seem to consider the readers experience.

 

For these reasons, reading Joe Klein’s writing was never an experience a enjoyed. It did, however, really make me interrogate how others read my writing. It may make sense to Joe Klein, but it didn’t to me. In the same way, will anyone except me understand my writing? This imperative has definitely benefitted my writing, especially considering that clarity of thought and writing for readers have always been shortcomings in my natural style of writing.

In the Arena by Joe Klein, Time Magazine, 2015

Joe Klein. I won’t spend as much time on this columnist for Time Magazine as I did on Joel, largely because I don’t like Joe Klein’s writing and hence I have less to say about it.

Reading Time Magazine from my time in high-school, I always felt that Joel Klein didn’t have his style of writing strongly conceptualized in his mind. He never had any consistent writing structure, and if he had personally decided long ago allow his structure to conform to or serve the content of the story, it wasn’t clear in the writing I had read. His pieces didn’t seem considered in their entirety, as though he had written it stream-of-consciousness style and never bothered to edit, nor did they seem to consider the readers experience.

For these reasons, reading Joe Klein’s writing was never an experience a enjoyed. It did, however, really make me interrogate how others read my writing. It may make sense to Joe Klein, but it didn’t to me. In the same way, will anyone except me understand my writing? This imperative has definitely benefitted my writing, especially considering that clarity of thought and writing for readers have always been shortcomings in my natural style of writing.

Reference: In the Arena by Joe Klein, Time Magazine, 2015

Leave a Reply

